[Video] Yashimanman Appearance 2009

what_life from Soompi shared this cuts she made of Yoo Ah In in Yashimanman back in 2009. It’s partially subbed by Rxgoodleaf and the reason I put this here instead of just the Video section (I’m gonna put it there too) is because I think this is one of the rare variety appearance Yoo makes and simply because this video is chock full of greatness because Yoo shared quite a bit of his past and views. I wish I can understand the entire thing, but the partial subs helped a lot!

So anyway, Yoo came on YSMM to promote the movie Antique Bakery. This was his second variety show appearance after Come To Play (also shared by what_life). He came along with the rest of Antique cast and other guests, so he didn’t have a lot of screen time there. But in YSMM, there were fewer guest, and we got almost 15 minutes of Yoo alone!

Yoo shared a whole bunch of stuff. He mentioned that he was really nervous appearing in a Kang Hodong show (this is often a comparison point of these two Nation’s MCs; Kang’s shows tend to be harder for variety show newbies whereas Yoo Jaesuk’s tend to be more comfortable). Case in point: Kang started grilling Yoo. Lee Hoon remarked that he got hate mails for saying he did not know who Yoo Ah In was on air, so Kang better treat Yoo right (hell yeah!). Kang Hodong, in turn, grilled Lee for not knowing who Yoo was, lol. Later he proceeded to be a matchmaker for Yoo and Im Jungeum, haha. That’s just his style of MCing. Wait, why am I saying more about Kang Hodong than Yoo Ah In? Geez.

Anyways, another interesting tidbit. Yoo also told a story about his previous relationship. Dude ripped his shirt off in anger in the middle of the street, yo!! Wild Horse, he is! I just thought it was interesting cos I was wondering myself why so many of Yoo’s roles have been really passionate/hot tempered characters and watching this sort of makes me understand more about his choice of roles. That perhaps, each role he’s played represented one side of his personality. In another interview he mentioned about taking a role and not simply acting it, but also making it HIS role, rather than any role anyone can play. I guess this is why his own characteristics tend to come out through his roles. Okay, I don’t know if I’m making any sense right now.

But yeah, there are a lot of stuff in that video. He recited his own freshly scribbled poetry, sang falsetto, and even wiggled to Wonder Girls’ Tell Me (sorry, but to me Tell Me will always be cute! XD). Well, if by now you are actually still reading this, instead of watching the video, I don’t know what to tell ya. Wait, I do: the video is a MUST watch!!

5 thoughts on “[Video] Yashimanman Appearance 2009

  1. Great write-up! I really really love the very last seconds when he sings “She’s Gone.” It cracks me up every single time I watch hahaha.

    “That perhaps, each role he’s played represented one side of his personality. In another interview he mentioned about taking a role and not simply acting it, but also making it HIS role, rather than any role anyone can play. I guess this is why his own characteristics tend to come out through his roles. Okay, I don’t know if I’m making any sense right now.”

    ->Make perfect sense, haha. Although I always think a pro actor is one who has to completely disappears behind the mask while acting, Ah In’s acting approach is fascinating. His characters do appear unique, overwhemed with charisma and screen presence to me. And he says he always tries to project a part of his self into the character, making its his? I dig.

    • I have similar opinion as you. Versatility is what I respect the most about actors. And while I’m on the verge of being gag-tastic right now, I think it’s smart of YAI to do this, cos in a way maybe he’s figuring himself out through playing these characters. Like acting is something more personal, perhaps his own brand of theraphy?? (seriously, feel free to vomit now). I mean, he’s young, versatility is not a priority, I think. Building your art is. When he’s 35 and still playing the same characters, then I’ll bash the guy.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention [Video] Yashimanman Appearance 2009 | Haven for You -- Topsy.com

  3. how adorable is he when he smiles. *melts* I love watching YAI, in both films/dramas and talk shows like this. He has a really strong screen presence and seems to be really comfortable with the camera. i remember reading off somewhere that he wishes to tackle roles like Yeorim in the future, man, what i won’t give to see that. YAI definitely have the potential to rock it.

    on another note, is there any chance of him appearing in Running Man??? i’d love to see the continuance of his bromance with SJK in variety shows.

Leave a Reply

