[Tweets] Ah In’s Tweets on Nov 2nd

On Nov 1st, 10 Asiae wrote an interesting article explaining the meanings behind Ah In’s twitter account “seek sik.” Here are the interpretations of our Korean translator InK Cho, based on the article (#2 and 3) and on her own language expertise:

Seek Sik can mean:

1) Seek for Sik (Uhm Hong Sik is YAI’s real name)
2) 씩씩: Vigorous or Spirited
3) 識식: Knowing Sik, learning about Sik (YAI)
4) 씩씩: panting or gasping sound
5)시크홍식: Chic Sik (YAI) –> chic and seek spells the same when it’s written in Korean letters: 시크

[lol, am I reading an Oxford English Dictionary here? Watch out for the 10 Asiae article everyone, we’re translating it.]

Below are tweets of Ah in on Nov 2nd, translated by InK Cho and revised by ancientkingdom. He talked a bit about supporting the film magazines (?), wrapping up being Guel-ro, and seeking wisdom.

He retweeted

  • 영화전문지가 살아있도록 지켜 읽어주시는 여러분은.. 이미지를 사랑하고 시간을 음미하는, 세상을 바라보는 하나의 느리고 특별한 방법을 옹호해주고 계신 거라 생각합니다. 그걸 포기하는 순간 세계를 측면으로 바라보는 한 시선이 사라지겠지요.[RTed by Seeksik]

I think that you guys who keep protecting the film magazines to be alive.. are the ones who love images, appreciate the time, and support the one slow but special way to view the world. The moment we give this up, the eyes that view the world from the side will disappear.

Tweet from a fan

  • @seeksik 마지막까지 씩씩하게! chic한 sik이로 sik이를 seek하길! 수고했어요! 이젠 좀 편하게 휴식하길. [RTed by Seeksik]

Keep the spirit until the end! Hope you [seek] for [sik:YAI] as [chic] [sik:YAI]! Thanks for your effort. Hope you rest comfortably now.

[*Again, it’s the pun about his name Seeksik, mentioned at the beginning of this post]->It seems that he enjoys all the puns about his name a lot!

Tweet from a friend

  • @seeksik 이것은 걸오를 빠져나와 이제 “홍식”이로 돌아가겠다는 뜻?! 고생했어요!

Does this mean that you are getting out of Gul-Oh and now returning to “HongSik”?! Good job!

He replied to the friend

  • 하하 돌아가겠다고 가지는것도 아니고 머물러있겠다고 있을 수 있는것도 아닌듯해요.. 처음부터 끝까지 너무 큰 힘이었습니다! 이젠 서울바닥에서 어색돋게 술 한잔 할 수 있겠죠크하하

Haha It’s not like that I can go back if i want to or I can stay in if I want to.. You’ve been a huge support to me from the beginning to the end! Now, we can drink together awkwardly back in Seoul. lol

[*He’s talking about that the character Gul-Oh is already a part of him. can’t be distinguished clearly from his former self now.]

Another tweet from him

  • 끝 없이 지혜를 구하는 마음. 내가 나를 꺾어낼 수 있는 마음. 나는 해답이 아니라 어떤 해답에도 머무르지 않으며 끝없이 묻고, 구하며 내 문을 닫지 않을 수 있는 방법을 찾고 있습니다. 바람이 멈추질 읺고 내가 끝나지 않는데 무슨 해답이 있겠습니까.

A mind that continuously searches for wisdom. A mind of that I can even break myself. I am not looking for the correct answer; I am looking for the way not to remain on any right answers yet to continuously ask and seek, the way that I can keep my doors unshut. How would there be the correct answer when the wind doesn’t stop blowing and when I’m not finished yet.

Another translated version, offered by jaeshinah@soompi: A heart endlessly seeking knowledge. A heart that can break me out of myself. I am not the answer; I must not stop before the answer but must keep asking and discovering, and find a way to not close any doors to myself. How could there be an answer when neither the wind nor I ever stop?

Credits to InK Cho, jaeshinah@soompi, and ancientkingdom for the translations. Also special thanks to Annie Sophie for her hard work on twitter promoting Ah In and bringing fans together.

44 thoughts on “[Tweets] Ah In’s Tweets on Nov 2nd

  1. thank you dear ^_^
    isn’t the first tweet a RT?
    “[RTed by Seeksik]
    I think that you guys who keep protecting the film magazines to be alive.. are the ones who love images, appreciate the time, and support the one slow but special way to view the world. The moment we give this up, the eyes that view the world from the side will disappear.

    from her e-mail…

  2. Thank you for the trans, once again, I just love his writings & philosophy ❤
    Seek Sik can mean Vigorous or Spirited….hmmm interesting. Just perfect for Ah-In lol

  3. Hi, guys,
    To make things clear, 10 Asia only pointed out about #2 and #3.
    The other meanings are from my analysis.
    #3 can mean: Knowing Sik, Learning a/b Sik, or Learning Sik

  4. “A mind that continuously searches for wisdom. A mind of that I can even break myself. I am not looking for the correct answer; I am looking for the way not to remain on any right answers yet to continuously ask and seek, the way that I can keep my doors unshut. How would there be the correct answer when the wind doesn’t stop blowing and when I’m not finished yet.”

    ->I think he and I share the same life philosophy. I really really want to have a chat with him. Maybe a soju drinking session: he can take the soju shot (soju with beer?) and I’ll have the soju mix (soju with sprite) lol

  5. lol. He’s a beer person tho. But, i’ll take his soju cuz i’m a soju person lol
    idk.. If i get the chance to talk to him in person, I don’t think i can dare to speak to him. I’d be afraid of that he could read my mind even before I speak to him..
    Altho his younger than me, he’s way more matured philosophically and intellectually.
    I’d be happy just to stare at him 😉

      • You don’t have a wordpress account right? I remember sending you an invitation to join wordpress, have you received it? To delete a comment you have to be one of the editors in the blog. To do so, go to wordpress.com and register a username (you don’t need a blog to have an account), then give me the email address you use to register. Then after I add you you can post articles and moderate all the comments.

  6. another thing to comment on!!
    The first RT he made [about the film magazines]
    Looks like that he’s following this reporter of Korean film mag ‘Cine21’ on Twitter, and he RTed the reporter’s statement. Do you guys remember the article from Cine 21?? Yes, she’s the one~;)

    • So my question now is…how old is she? The fangirl in me is getting jaelous when Ah In follows and supports a female reporter lol.

      • lol Don’t worry. She’s way above his age.
        YAI is very proactive when it comes to communicating with his fans or with the world in general. He lets us know which interviews are worthy of our time. I just realized that he posted Dongah[02] interview on his Cy page. That interview was one my my top 3 favorite interviews of YAI, too!!!
        See, he was very comfortable with that reporter and poured out everything that was there!! I chat with gallers at the DC gallery often, and somehow, YAI answered all the questions the gallers used to have just around that time!! Showing that he cares about what his fans look for and that he actually reads his own fan sites…. it was just amazing, and the gallers got shocked and excited lol

        i’m just thankful for the Cine21 reporter and the 02 reporter. Cuz there are so many interviewers out there, yet these reporters were the ones who actually interviewed YAI as who he is.

        and, i did receive your invitation email and registered right then.. i’m just not too good at managing new tools. it’ll take a while for me to get used to it ;p

  7. Hi everyone ..

    Oh, I really love to read all what is written in his twitter. Thanks a lot guys for the translation and all sharing about Yoo Ah In this fansite! I really appreciate it ..

    And frankly, a man named Yoo Ah In this has made me want to always look and find out everything about him.

    I think not too much if I say I really wanted to
    have friends to talk like him in my life.
    He was the first made me willing to be glued in order to read his translation writings without even a little bored and tired.
    I just love this experience!

    Thanks again guys!

  8. So, in the whole world, he has very unique spirit, right? I thought, it’s just limited in Korea. I’ve never known the other world can understand his lines or his mind. Wow~ you know? It’s very touching exprience to me. I’m glad I’m one of you~ guys~ ^^
    I’ll be hurry to translating 10 asia article. ^^ hhaha

      • @ancientkingdom: You live close to Seoul, are you a member of his fanclub@DCInside? I know the fanclub gets to do things and meet him now and then. Maybe you can get the opportunity one day 🙂

  9. wow! we’re speaking of etymology huh… here’s what i got. Seeksik is more plausible to an english definition knowing/discovering YAI. I think he had internalize the character of HBS that much ^__^

    in filipino we define seeksik {read as siksik} as compact and/or massive (translated in english), and the bible defines it Good Measure in Luke 6:38 🙂

    i wonder if he had thought about this all along… he’s sooo profound!

      • Compact and massive? yeah they kinda opposite. chewii, can you further explain?

        @dalbit: Oh please, you should send him a tweet about this interesting bit of info in Korean haha. He seems to like hearing stuff from his fans.

        I wonder if he reads English fanpage, if there is any out there 😦 If he makes an attempt to communicate with his international fans it would be soooo great!

        I replied to your comment on the ICU page. Let me know soon if it’s okay for you.

        • I hope he does read English fanpages, or at least know about them. I notice that our twitter always mention him in tweets and I hope he notices that too and checks us out (man, do I love that expression). He should know his Guhro Ahri has transcends beyond Kimchiland! XD

    • compact is synonymous with concise and/or massive, as in greatly measure…

      sounds opposite but not entirely opposite. sometimes our language has two meanings so i included and/or 🙂 i hope this will help i totally forgot about replying so it took me so long ^__^

  10. Actually, you know~ I wanna talk his manager about this fanclub through his tweeter…however…. I felt shy~ ^^;;; Maybe~ if I have big courage oneday~ I’ll send tweet to him. ^^;;; using Korean~ Give me courage!!!!! ^^ Guys~ an I’m not a member of DC-inside, just 아이니스. ^^

    • Ainese already knows about this page cuz I left a post there, and it’s got 783 hits and 35 replies. And, where I’m from DC Ahin-gall knew about this page, too. That’s how I found you guys on twitter! I’m sure YAI would know about this page soon if not already cuz he checks on all the sites that has his name on it. As he says, “I’m always watching over you (to DC gall_when the gallers want YAI to come out and post himself).”

      I’ll twit to JaeMin manager and Ahin if you need~

      and, Unni!!!
      come and play with us at DC gall!! 해치지 않아요~
      I mention about this page often at the gall. It’s interesting how similar we all are when we react to his interviews or to his writings. DC gallers can’t really think that you guys could possibly understand his writings or tweets cuz they can’t. However, they are thankful that they speak the same language as YAI to be able to read them w/o further translations. lol It’s so much fun to translate his writings into EASY Korean with the other gallers~ I love doing that~kkkkkkkk

      neway, my point was that
      He’ll see this page!! and, he’ll find a way to read through our comments!!
      just because!! He’s YAI who always cares about what his fans think!!
      :0)

      • Ah so that is you who posted the link! THANK YOU SO MUCH! If you’ve got a chance to hang out with the DC gallers, please pass them our greetings, love and thanks!

        Since I got caught in the Ah In virus, my Korean improved so much^^ I actually visited DCIside many times, but I can’t post anything since I don’t have an account 😦

        LOL@translating the tweets into easy Korean hahahaha…..

      • Dear InK;

        ~ I deeply appreciate for the translation. “kamsahamnida”

        ~ I’ve just visited your personal page, OMG!!! I really don’t believe my eyes = SWOON ……… (but can’t read Korean) Is it possible to have Ain’s lovely picturessssssss , please.!!! I’ll be very very happy indeed and there will be only sunshine in London to cheer me up if you say *yes*

      • Dear DDouWZ*,
        You can always right click on the pic and “Save as” it.
        All the pix I have on my blog is shareable with you guys.
        Feel free to save them.

        (Oh, sometimes some posts wouldn’t allow if i scrapped from someone else, and the person had it set up not to be shared.)

        http://blog.naver.com/dalbbit1004

  11. You definitely should. Think about Ah In’s tweets “You should say you love me even though it means you’re rustic”^^ He’d love to hear that there’re more and more people liking his works, even they don’t speak the same language. Liking him for us international fans is like trying to look at the moon in the middle of the day (hehe my writing is like his now) because it’s so hard to find more info about him in English. ancientkingdom unnie you’re an amazing fan and you can do it^^

    • I tweeted to YAI and his manager about this page last night.
      simply said “Are you aware of the new fansite abroad that’s called [Haven for You]? ^^”
      Haven’t heard back yet. I don’t think I’ll ever hear from them 😛
      but, I’m sure that they’ll click on the link I left with it

      Crossing my fingers~:D

  12. His ideals contained in writing were not only motivating but gracious persistence which kept us moving toward his stimulating ideas and encouragement.

    I also observe this unsatisfactoriness of sensory experience which is always a changing one, and out of ignorance and not understanding,…..

    • i agree with you …hes a philosopher….his deep thinking and his ability to reflect on him self and the world around him is what i think makes him able to get into his characters and act so well

      and hes only going to improve with experience…i cant wait for his next projects

      and it was nice to read all this info about Ah In and how he replies to his fans and his honest interviews

  13. Hai tinysunbl! 🙂

    I love to read that YAI tweets
    “You should say you love me even though it means you’re rustic”
    I think it is a very honest and cool. ^ ^

    I pray and hope he will continue to be successful and happy with everything he did. Because, to me, he is a wise and great thinkers. ^^

    hai ancientkingdom, wish good luck to you!
    you can do it! ^ ^

  14. heart endlessly seeking knowledge. A heart that can break me out of myself. I am not the answer; I must not stop before the answer but must keep asking and discovering, and find a way to not close any doors to myself. How could there be an answer when neither the wind nor I ever stop?

    I was fascinated by this tweet and had been dying to know its meaning since two days ago (google translate helped only a little) … so thank you for the translation. YAI please stay healthy, we’ll be anxiously waiting to see more of your work in the future 건강하게 지내세요 화이팅!

  15. I feel that he is really a deep person.. He writes as good as Hong Byuk Seo hehe.. 🙂 He’s really good..

    thanks for the trans!

  16. this is the first time that i have read his writings. i follow his tweets but i find it hard to understand what he is trying to impart..and now i undrstand how deep of a person he trully is. he is such a good actor and a very witty person.

  17. This is what I thought…isn’t that seeksik mean Hong Shik who keep searching(seek)something from this life…maybe…

Leave a Reply

