[ITW] SKKS stars answer questions from Daum users

Thanks to summersky, who sent along the link to an “exclusive interview” Yoo Ah In, Song Joong Ki, Park Min Young, and Park Yoochun did with Daum users! As you can tell from the time stamps, the questions were actually asked way back in August 2010, before SKKS even aired–kudos to these fans who recognized months before I did what a gem this drama would be=)

<Yoo Ah In interview>

Q1. To actor Yoo Ah In! To be honest, you’re actually a good writer like Sungkyunkwan Scandal’s Moon Jaeshin, and I understand you have a fiery side to your personality as well…^^ .. please choose 3 similarities you see between Moon Jaeshin and the person Um Hong Sik!

A. If I were to compare myself to Jaeshin, the way we both express our pain? I think we’re similar in the way we fill up the empty spaces within ourselves. Of course, I’m not as rough(?) as Jaeshin, but I do feel that the eyes with which I see life are very similar to the eyes with which Jaeshin sees society.

Q2. Yoo Ah In oppa! Many people have been saying that your character this time around is a beastly man! But is your actual personality also that kind of beastly man style??

A. I don’t think I’m a rough and strong beastly man like Jaeshin. Personally, I tend to think that showing my pain and scars to other people makes me seem shallow, so I think I tend to hide my feelings inside more than Jaeshin does.

Q3. Ah In oppa, your skin seems especially dark…did you go tanning for the drama?

A. My skin isn’t very white to begin with, but I have to show a strong image for the drama so as I was preparing for the character I also went tanning.

I totally missed these last two questions the first time around -___-

Q4. Yoo Ah In-nim, was there anything you were nervous about as you tackled this role? Did anyone give you a hard time??

A. Nobody really made me nervous, but I worried a lot on my own. The first introduction to the character is as a ‘beastly man,’ so beyond acting skills, I was worried that if I didn’t have the kind of body(?) that people were anticipating, I’d disappoint them…I was extremely nervous about that kind of thing. Because to be honest, I’ve never done a project where I had to show my body even once. I exercised hard, and there were a few action scenes too, so I went to action school whenever I had the time. I’m also doing my very best to create beastly man Jaeshin internally, so [he won’t be a character with] empty emotions.

Q5. Ah In-gun, you said you’re making an effort to make your body fit–what kind of exercise do you normally do?

A. I go to the health club, and I went to an action school for the action scenes in the beginning of the drama and exercised that way.

Source: DBSK/Tohoshinki Lovers Forum [includes questions answered by Joong-ki, Min Young and Yoochun]

Translated by jaeshinah


14 thoughts on “[ITW] SKKS stars answer questions from Daum users

  1. “If I were to compare myself to Jaeshin, the way we both express our pain? I think we’re similar in the way we fill up the empty spaces within ourselves.”

    ->This just sounds like the Ah In I know!
    I hope the way to “fill up the empty spaces within ourselves” doesn’t include drinking for hours on a ginkgo tree for Ah in 😦

    Kudos to summersky for the link and jaeshinah for the super fast translation!

  2. Sorry Jaeshinah, I changed the format of the title to make it consistent with the rest of the post, since we usually sort posts by category and not by time. If you’d prefer the old way, please tell me and I’ll change it back^^

  3. Wow, that was fast! ^_^

    I just watched some Moon Jae Shin SKKS highlights again and I seem to be falling more and more in love with the character and Yoo Ah In as well. It’s becoming more evident to me that I’m not just watching Moon Jae Shin, but a part of YAI himself – he indeed related himself very much to the role. ♥

    Thank you so much for the translation *hugs*

    • Lat night I spent literally 2 hours rewatched all Jaeshin’s scenes in the last 3 episodes. I miss him like crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • I had to stop at episode 8 ‘coz my YAI fangirl heart couldn’t take it anymore… Even his hiccuping had me flailing and spazzing like crazy!!! ;D Maybe I’ll watch again tomorrow, with a paper bag this time in case I hyperventilate *_*

  4. “Of course, I’m not as rough(?) as Jaeshin, but I do feel that the eyes with which I see life are very similar to the eyes with which Jaeshin sees society.”

    Feel sad to hear that.

  5. lol the answer to the 5th question is so ambiguous! I guess Ah In wasn’t into the whole idea of exercising thing that much. He said he only had 2 packs at the time of the filming. One more thing me and my *hubby* Ah In have in common!

  6. Thanks tinysunbl! now i see his handwriting!! I don’t understand what he wrote there down below his signature.. anyone care to translate??

    • “sungkyunkwan scandal daebak!
      portal site strongest daum!”

      “strongest” is 최강 or choi kang in korean, which is the same as choi kang changmin (DBSK) or “choi kang chilwoo”, which i usually translate as “strongest chilwoo.”

Leave a Reply

