Live Report of KBS Drama Awards 2010!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I decided to do a live report of KBS Drama Awards 2010. I won’t be translating spoken words, because seriously I don’t understand that much. If I do understand, I will tell. This post will be updated as the award ceremony is proceeding.

I didn’t watch for the beginning, only about 20 minutes in. Update: So I ended up editing quite a few after the awards are over but overall they’re live reports. I didn’t want it to be a raw live report so all of you can read it well. I did not read any news at all, all the things written are according to what I saw. There might be some wrong things so I might need to fix them later.

The award ceremony is MCed by Choi Soojung, Lee Dahae and Song Joongki. The ceremony will be divided into three parts. I might post the winners list when I can get my hands on it. In the following post, I will only write down winners/categories that has to do with Mr. Yoo or Sungkyungkwan Scandal.

First and perhaps most important is his attire! I was wondering all day long what kind of suit he will wear to this award ceremony. Apparently it’s the only one he attended this year. And I was somewhat correct! I imagined him black on black with spiky hair. Mr. Yoo is wearing black on black tux, with a gold bow tie! Made of metal slash plastic! The bow tie is questionable, the material, the color; but I guess this is still okay and somewhat normal compared to, oh maybe a certain black leather halter? He had on a black pocket square (nice, BTW). His shirt is button-less! Makes it even more chic. His hair is dyed brown (maybe during his stay in London?), styled into a spike (see A awards). The front shot is definitely good. The look fits him well (of course)! I can’t compare with the other actors but I think he looks dandy, next to Jang Hyuk (who also chose a black on black). I just love black on black instead of plain black on white tux, don’t you? Seeing through the pictures you can see how this man/boy can show a charismatic image but also a cute image. How is that possible!?

Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Mr. Yoo was nominated for two awards: Best Couple alongside Song Joongki and Best Rookie Actor.

Now, the best couple award(s) are being handed out and yes, all the “noms” are given. Seems like they’re not noms, but real winners. So it’s an all-winner award! And the Jalgeum quartet is finally together! Mr Yoo-Song Joongki and Park MinyoungPark Yoochun. Cool, huh? And I think the MC asked PMY who she’d like to be coupled with or smth like that and she chose PYC. Mr Yoo was pissed off a little bit.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

They are so adorable, aren't they?

Here goes the Best Rookie Actor category. I’m still confused why he’s nominated as rookie instead of, oh say, supporting actor. Is there one? The winner is Park Yoochun! Congrats to him. He did an amazing job. I think he deserved well, he did a wonderful job. I didn’t watch the rest of them, so… I think he deserved the most out of all, considering Mr Yoo isn’t really a rookie so he’s out of the picture perhaps?

One more info, I think they have the same system of winners like SBS, which is co-winners. So each category has two winners. Never mind, that’s only for the child actress 😀 Wait… never mind, I don’t know how many they decide for each category. I guess whatever number they want. BTW, the Best Rookie Actress goes to Oh Ji-eun and Lee Shi-young.

With that, looks like Mr Yoo won’t be bringing home an individual award this year 😦 Dramas are hard to get awards, compared to movies where awards pop up in every corner (observe Antique and his Director’s Choice Awards) Too bad, he did a wonderful job, don’t you think? I mean his performance did bring us together. They should have had a category for best supporting actor! He’ll get that for sure. Edit: So there is a supporting actor award but it seems like in Korea “supporting” goes to more minor roles, like the dad, the mom, and the noms are old-ish. Maybe I was comparing to Hollywood where supporting actors are second leads. Oh well.

The Popularity Award for actress goes to Moon Geun-young who, btw, looked amazing in her white full gown. Very ladylike. But the bangs make her look very youthful nevertheless. And for the actor, congrats to Song Joong-ki! He’s also one of the main MCs tonight. And aw… he cried in his speech. I’m pretty sure it’s lovely. I heard either mom or grandma, and either of them he gives his thanks.

Mr Yoo comes back to present the Netizen Award with Goo Hyesun. If you recall, the two worked together in Strongest Chilwoo. The winner goes to Park Yoochun! Wow, this must be his night. Oh, there are three winners! Yoochun won alongside Jang Geunsuk and Park Minyoung.

The third part is opened with JYJ‘s I Found You (찾았다). I found the performance really good. I liked this song a lot. While they sang it, it reminded me of the awesome time I had watching Sungkyungkwan Scandal. I liked how this performance is accompanied by dancers dancing some sort of traditional(?) Korean ribbon dance. Well, at least their attire is traditional. The ladies wore hanboks and the gentlemen (and I believe one or both are ladies also, some sort of Yoonhee) are in scholar clothes. For some reason I wanted the dancers in front, even though I know for sure JYJ was the main attraction.

Park Minyoung won for the Best Actress for Drama Series. Congrats to her! Her competition was tough. She did a great job in SKKS. Amongst all she thanked, of course she thanked her fellow Jalgeum Quartet. I guess the friendship will never end! I will remember these four as one of the best foursome of all. Chew on that, F4!

Kim Kapsoo, who is an amazing actor, won for Top Actor! Apparently he had one busy year, starring in many dramas. We’ve seen him in SKKS as Sunjoon’s strict father. But he was also in Cinderella’s Sister, Chuno, and 9 other dramas! He’s becoming one of my favorite actors and also one of the most charismatic actors. And his eyes! The Top Actress went to Moon Geun Young. She was in two dramas, Cinderella’s Sister and Marry Me, Mary! Just in case you didn’t know, the two characters she played in the two dramas had polar opposite personalities, which shows the amazing range she can portray. And she’s only 23 years old!

This is the biggie, the Daesang Award. That’s like the Miss Universe of the pageant world. It’s the top of the top. The Daesang is the highest award one can get in an award ceremony. Of course each award ceremony have different winners, according to their standards and qualifications. And the winner goes to… Congrats to Chuno’s Jang Hyuk! I didn’t see Chuno, but I heard he gave an amazing performance.

I guess that’s all! Well, I hope you enjoyed the live recap. Hopefully there will be translators *cough* who will help me with the spoken stuff. Once again, congratulations to all the winners! I hope we could see more amazing performances in the new year that has greeted us.

Update: Here are the full list of winners, courtesy of Dramabeans

WINNERS LIST

Daesang: Jang Hyuk (Chuno)
Top Excellence, Actor: Kim Gab-soo (Cinderella’s Sister)
Top Excellence, Actress: Jeon In-hwa (Baker King Kim Tak-gu), Moon Geun-young (Cinderella’s Sister)
Excellence Awards:
Miniseries, Actor: Yoon Shi-yoon (Baker King Kim Tak-gu)
Miniseries, Actress: Eugene (Baker King Kim Tak-gu)
Drama Series, Actor: Oh Ji-ho (Chuno)
Drama Series, Actress: Park Min-young (Sungkyunkwan Scandal)
Special Production Drama, Actor: Kim Su-ro (God of Study)
Special Production Drama, Actress: Han Eun-jung (Gumiho: Tale of the Fox’s Child)
Serial Drama, Actor: Lee Jong-hyuk (Marry Me)
Serial Drama, Actress: Kim Ji-young (Marry Me)

Supporting Actor: Sung Dong-il (Chuno)
Supporting Actress: Lee Bo-hee (Three Brothers)
Newcomer Award, Actor: Park Yoo-chun (Sungkyunkwan Scandal)
Newcomer Award, Actress: Oh Ji-eun (Three Brothers), Lee Shi-young (Birth of the Rich)
Writer Award: Kang Eun-kyung (Baker King Kim Tak-gu)
Actor, Youth: Oh Jae-mu (Baker King Kim Tak-gu)
Actress, Youth: Kim Yoo-jung, Seo Shin-ae (Gumiho: Tale of the Fox’s Child)
One-Act Special, Actor: Sohn Hyun-joo (Texas Hit), Lee Seon-kyun (Our Slightly Risque Relationship)
One-Act Special, Actress: Jung Yumi (The Great Gye Choon-bin)

Popularity Award: Song Joong-ki (Sungkyunkwan Scandal), Moon Geun-young (Cinderella’s Sister)
Netizens’ Award: Park Yoo-chun (Sungkyunkwan Scandal), Park Min-young (Sungkyunkwan Scandal), Jang Geun-seok (Mary Stayed Out All Night)
Best Couple: Jang Hyuk & Lee Da-hae (Chuno), Jang Geun-seok & Moon Geun-young (Mary Stayed Out All Night), Yoon Shi-yoon & Lee Young-ah (Baker King Kim Tak-gu), Song Joong-ki & Yoo Ah-in (Sungkyunkwan Scandal), Park Yoo-chun & Park Min-young (Sungkyunkwan Scandal)

And last but not least, I wish all of you the best new years! 2010 was an amazing year. We should look forward to the next with opening arms. And an awesome smile 😀 And perhaps a lollipop too!

Image and video hosting by TinyPicHappy new year 2011!

27 thoughts on “Live Report of KBS Drama Awards 2010!

  1. congrats to Joong Ki oppa & Ah In ssi!!! aigooo … my cutie won the Male Popular Award

    am i dreaming? xDDD

    the big momment :

    • Whoa it’s already on youtube? Nice! I love this moment. Mr. Yoo was like “Dude, we won a couple award! Is this weird?” Song Joongki was like “So weird. But hey, we look good together right?” Of course that is (most likely) not what they said but hey, a girl can fantasize, right?

  2. Thanks a lot for the report !
    I can’t watch it live ='( Anyway, he looks very good in this tux ! as usual !!!
    I didn’t understand…Who won the best couple award ?

    • I’m stupid…I misread the sentence xD
      Congrats to everyone in SKK…
      What a shame for YAI he didn’t win anything for himself…But the best couple is way too good !! I can’t believe it !

  3. thanks a bunch dear,you are so kind for reporting this event, i wish i can watch it live, but i can’t 😦
    i’ll be watch this soon i get home 🙂
    even he didnt won award for himself,but the best couple award was daebak isn’t it…hope in the new year he more shining than now,and won many prestige awards..
    happy new year all haveners and make your own new year night, love you

  4. thanks for the report. happy new year to you too.

    i think he looks great tonight. he deserves supporting actor award really.i never drag by a character in drama before, and here i am reading your blog every single day. hehe.

    He’s not rookie actor, he already in the industry years before and he should not be nominated in newcomer’s categories. yaa, never mind, keep trying yoo ah in shi.hehe.

    btw, i think we should named our yoo ah in fan based. Like primadonna for ft island. we should think of one. 🙂

    happy new year yorobun! ^^

    • There’s actually one! His fanclub is called Ainese. So we can call our selves Ainese(s?) But most people here in Haven call us Haveners, because we dwell in the Haven.

  5. I’m watching it alive now..but kinda on and off, I’m also busy with new year’s celebration.Where is Ah In btw?I can’t see him in the middle of the show now.Do I miss something??

  6. thanks so much for the report..i wasn’t able to watch it live so this report really made my new year so bright and shiny..kekeke…first of all, our YAI and Jalgeum four look really good…waaah….so handsome…i laughed so hard when the camera caught YAI expression when he heard they won the couple award..keke..anf minyoungsshi couldnt take it and she even hide her face laughing. kekeke..and the best was they hug together..bro love..well, both of them are comfortable of themselves and know their true friendship so there was no awkwardness at all…
    what a way to end the year..wish I was there…

    Happy new year to all of you my fellow Haveners, Ainese..

  7. LOL!
    I wanted to share my happiness here, because Yoo Ah In is really the person I did this for..

    this is me in the beginning!!!

    the whole video can be found here

  8. I’m a little upset that Yoo Ah In didn’t win any award apart from the best couple award. But well, there will be next time. He looks dashing in the attire and if you don’t scrutinize the material of his golden bow tie … I think it looks pretty chic. Thanks conanblue for the post. Happy New Year Haveners!

  9. for me, the most important Yoo Ah In can accept it with upright head … and open a new chapter with smile … coz i know he work so hard and he’s always shining, I would keep support him whatever happen

  10. I m sure he’s philosophical about it (not winning or nominated in the right category). These awards are full of politics anyway. But we know he’s a fabulous actor, he knows his job, he’s a professional and that’s what matter.

    Happy New Year to everyone & let’s hope we will see more of him!

  11. Me like the last picture with the lolipop! LOL, he’s like a little boy, getting his candy! All the best mastter Sik this 2011! Let’s shower him more love this 2011 Haveners! His Twit this morning is “SERVAME, SERVABOTE”, save me and I will save you…so lets!

Leave a Reply

