Innolife interview with Yoo Ah In

Yoo Ah In, who played Geoluh Moon Jae Shin with a fierce, remote personality in Sungkyunkwan Scandal

Playing special characters in artistically diverse independent works more often than in trendy ones, Yoo Ah In became a “favorite actor,” gaining lots of popularity through Sungkyunkwan Scandal. “So what type of character is Geoluh Moon Jae Shin?” To find out the answer, during the release conference for SKKS DVD at Seoul Hotel, we met with Yoo Ah In, the man who created the “Geoluh ache” that stole the hearts of countless women.

“Geoluh is a complex character, multi-layered, even reserved and timid…Because his intricate self is explicitly expressed, the character becomes more attractive. Also, through Geoluh, I want to find the answers to my own ponderings about acting and to the hope of being recognized.  Seen as an actor, I feel like the character is close to myself. He truly is Geoluh.”

After the audition, Yoo Ah In was very worried about the skepticisms of his casting. It is because – the cute baby-faced boy who started as a child actor Yoo Ah In, and the hot-blooded, rebellious youth Moon Jae Shin – these two persons don’t seem to have much in common. However, after the first episode aired, more than anyone else, Yoo Ah In showed his ability to recreate a true “Geoluh” and cleared all doubts. How did he do it?

“Usually when playing a character, the actor will try to create something. But for me, I purposefully created a void (in character). Speaking of Geoluh, you will think of some adjectives to describe him, right? A “beast” man with some height and some kind of posture…But I want to connect all the essentials of his personality. In fact, I thought he was a man who let go of everything, as if he were exhausted, and therefore I was able to express him naturally. I wanted to portray a Geoluh distinct from other existing Geoluh, someone who can really run around his own forest.”

Yoo Ah In’s choice when expressing the character naturally is excellent. The audience could sympathize with Yoo Ah In’s character and slowly drowned in his attractiveness. For those who were heart-broken for Geoluh’s one-sided love for Yoonhee, till now, 5 months after the drama off air, sad feelings still linger.

“Through Sungkyunkwan Scanda, I transformed a lot. That’s a gift from many. I gained more popularity…Perhaps my wish of connecting with more audience has been slowly realized. Besides, I felt like being more mature as an actor. I’m also more open-minded in choosing scripts. Being loved as an actor, that’s the gift Sungkyunkwan Scandal bestowed me.”


The time to take off Geoluh’s clothes and move on to other characters will eventually come, but there must remain some unforgettable memories of Geoluh.

What does a character mean for an actor? Yoo Ah In grows with his own character. “When a drama or movie ends, it is not easy to completely forget the character I play and move on. It is because “Geoluh” and “Yoo Ah In” aren’t strangers (to each other). Acting, to me, simply means bringing out the existing elements of myself for the character. The end of the work doesn’t mean the end of the character. Because of the character, my own self has changed a lot. Through him, a child actor like me became more mature.” This 25 year old young man talks about the present and love. “For some reasons I was amused by romantic films, so I didn’t watch them often. But now I want to try playing a light character. It’s the light, honest and simple type of romance in Japanese dramas and movies. Rather than create a world of love, isn’t it better just to draw a picture of those who are in love?  The more honest, the better, right? (Laugh). What do you think about the love picture that Yoo Ah In himself will draw? Let’s look forward to his image as a “man in love.”

“Sungkyunkwan Scandal” DVD will be released on Tsutaya on 4/20 and available in store on 4/22.


Source: innolife.net (Japanese)
Translated into Vietnamese by pumpkinareo@kst.vn; into English by tinysunbl; Pics from Eins House@KST

13 thoughts on “Innolife interview with Yoo Ah In

  1. ‎​​˚(*)•.¸`*•.¸˚(*) ••(*)˚¸.•*´¸.•(*)˚
    •‧‧※‎​ WOOOW ‎​※‧‧•
    ,.•(*)¸.•*˙,.•(*)´˚`(*)•.,˙*•.¸`(*)•.,..
    Lots of Sik pictures. Now I figured out that he’s look so much mature..! Vest over the jacket? It works on him! I miss his geuloh.. Hope he grows his stache soon! Btw thanks for the post tiny!

  2. weeeeeee thanks for sharing!!!!

    our YAI really has a way with words that makes me swoon…
    how can I not love you YAI?

  3. “Being loved as an actor, that’s the gift Sungkyunkwan Scandal bestowed me.” ->> Aww…yes you are soooo loved! ♥♥♥ Hell lotta love! ♥

    “For some reasons I was amused by romantic films, so I didn’t watch them often. But now I want to try playing a light character. It’s the light, honest and simple type of romance in Japanese dramas and movies. ” ► wait…does it mwean hwe’s gonna play a DORAMA in Japan??? *super excited* \☺/\☺/\☺/\☺/

  4. when he doesnt have a beard, he looks younger ><
    I think he was only 18 when I saw his face form these pics LOL
    thanks for this interview, it shows us more about YAI oppa ^^~

  5. Pingback: [K-POP/J-POP/K-DRAMA] JYJ : Yoochun’s “Sungkyunkwan Scandal” Gains High Popularity In Japan | ©HOTSPICYKIMCHI

Leave a Reply

