Ah In’s Mini-hompy Post on 9/9/2011

Hi Haveners~

Some of you may know that Ah In recently posted a poem at his mini-hompy~ It is a poem titled “I Love You” written by a famous Korean poet, Jung Ho Seung (정호승)~ Thanks to my friend, Kong-yi nim, I got to see the translation of the poem~ After getting her permission, I am now able to share her translation with you here at Haven!

Please keep in mind that the translation is done literally and excuse us for doing so~ As everyone knows, when it comes to poem, it’s very hard to understand, left along translating it~^ ^~

Here is the original post by Ah In at his mini-hompy~

사랑한다

정호승

밥그릇을 들고 길을 걷는다

목이 말라 손가락으로 강물 위에

사랑한다라고 쓰고 물을 마신다

갑자기 먹구름이 몰리고

몇날 며칠 장대비가 때린다

도도히 황톳물이 흐른다

제비꽃이 아파 고개를 숙인다

비가 그친 뒤

강둑 위에서 제비꽃이 고개를 들고

강물을 내려다본다

젊은 송장 하나가 떠내려오다가

사랑한다

내 글씨에 걸려 떠내려가지 못한다

And below are the translations done by my friend Kong-yi nim~

Originally Posted at Mathed’s Home~

“I Love You” by 정호승

I’m walking along the road holding a rice bowl.
I’m thirsty, so I’m writing ‘I love you’ with my finger on the river and drinking water.
Suddenly, dark clouds shadow,
A heavy rain’s pouring several days.
Red clay river flows with a rush.
A violet lowers her head for being sick.
After rain stops,
she raises her head on the riverbank and see the river.
A young dead body floats down the river and it is stuck on my handwriting ‘I love you’ and never washes away.

3 thoughts on “Ah In’s Mini-hompy Post on 9/9/2011

Leave a Reply

